
Raleigh, North Carolina
Wake Tech – Beltline Education Center
3200 Bush Street, Raleigh, NC 27609- Program price
- At least $720
- Schedule
- Day schedule available
- Program length
- 1,526 hoursAbout 18 months
- Next start
- Not available
About the program
Wake Tech’s non-degree cosmetology program at Beltline Education Center combines theory with practical salon training. The four-part sequence builds from introductory skills to advanced services and preparation for the North Carolina cosmetology licensing exam.
- Introduction: Infection control, sanitation, professional practices, anatomy, and basic salon skills.
- Intermediate: Skin and nail care, chemical services, haircuts, and product knowledge.
- Advanced III and IV: Further salon practice, client services, and licensing-exam preparation.
The program requires 1,526 hours and takes about 18 months for part-time study. A bilingual Spanish/English introductory option includes online theory and requires preparatory computer-skills classes.
What you get
You earn a Certificate of Completion after all four parts of the training, not after the introductory course alone. Complete the required coursework, hours, and salon services for each part; the final course requires 90% attendance and an average grade of 80% or higher on assignments and salon services.
The school certificate is separate from a professional cosmetology license. Completing the full sequence prepares you to register for the licensing exam. Wake Tech also offers an annual job fair and internship opportunities with local salons to support your job search.
Schedules & start dates
| Study option | Class schedule | Hours per week | Upcoming starts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part-time About 18 months | Mon–Wed9:00 AM–4:00 PM The school describes this as part-time; weekly contact hours excluding breaks are not specified. | Not listed | Not listed |
| Part-time About 18 months | Wed–Fri9:00 AM–4:00 PM The school describes this as part-time; weekly contact hours excluding breaks are not specified. | Not listed | Not listed |
Cost & financial aid
Program price
At least $720
Minimum program cost before financial aid
Base registration for the four-course cosmetology sequence is at least $720: four courses at the standard $180 registration fee for courses of 51 hours or more. This is a registration-fee minimum, not the complete program price.
Required books and learning-platform access, a cosmetology kit, a laptop or tablet, uniforms, and any additional course fees are extra. Prerequisite classes or testing for your chosen route may also add costs.
What's included
- Cosmetology Introduction registrationStandard registration fee for one course of 51 or more hours; other course fees and materials are additional.
- $180
- Cosmetology Intermediate registrationStandard registration fee for one course of 51 or more hours; other course fees and materials are additional.
- $180
- Cosmetology Advanced III registrationStandard registration fee for one course of 51 or more hours; other course fees and materials are additional.
- $180
- Cosmetology Advanced IV registrationStandard registration fee for one course of 51 or more hours; other course fees and materials are additional.
- $180
Federal financial aid
Eligibility not confirmed
Federal student aid is not confirmed for this non-degree cosmetology program. Workforce scholarships cover selected courses; they are not an automatic tuition waiver for every course or student. Eligibility for a college degree program’s aid does not by itself establish funding for this training.
How to enroll
Entry requirements
Before starting cosmetology, you need:
- A high school diploma or equivalency.
- Government-issued identification and a Social Security number or tax ID number.
- Attendance at a Cosmetology Information Session and a Bronze-level Career Readiness test result for the introductory course.
The bilingual introductory option also requires Basic Computer Skills and Digital Skills classes before enrollment.
Application steps
- Attend the Cosmetology Information Session and complete the introductory course’s Career Readiness test requirement.
- Prepare your identification, high school completion or equivalency documentation, and Social Security number or tax ID.
- Complete any preparatory classes required by your chosen route, including the computer-skills classes for the bilingual introduction.
- Register for the introductory course when a section opens, then progress through the intermediate and advanced courses in sequence.
School approval & accreditation
- North Carolina Board school listing
- Status:
- Active
- Accreditation
- Not confirmed
Sources
View source list8 sources
- Beltline Education Center | Wake Tech Official school source · Retrieved Oct 4, 2026
- Non-degree Cosmetology School | Wake Tech Official school source · Retrieved Oct 4, 2026
- Cosmetology and Natural Hair Specialist FAQs | Wake Tech Official school source · Retrieved Oct 15, 2026
- Workforce Development Information | Wake Tech Official school source · Retrieved Oct 15, 2026
- Workforce Pell | Wake Tech Official school source · Retrieved Oct 15, 2026
- Propel: Accelerated Workforce Training | Wake Tech Official school source · Retrieved Oct 15, 2026
- North Carolina Board school listing record State regulator · Retrieved Oct 4, 2026
- North Carolina Board school listing record State regulator · Retrieved Oct 4, 2026
