Catonsville, Maryland

Western School of Technology and Environmental Science

100 Kenwood Avenue, Catonsville, MD 21228
Program price
Price unavailable
Schedule
High School With Salon Work Study
Program length
1,500 hours
Next start
Not available

About the program

Western’s high school cosmetology program provides 1,500 hours of training for Maryland’s cosmetology licensing examination. Students learn hair cutting, styling, chemical services and coloring, along with skin care, makeup, nail care, infection control and salon business skills.

Training uses lecture, demonstration and continual practice. The final 300 hours are completed through a work-study program in a licensed salon during grade 12, under a licensed senior cosmetologist’s supervision.

Read the cosmetology program information

What you get

Students complete 1,500 hours of training, including the final 300 hours in a licensed salon under a licensed senior cosmetologist’s supervision during grade 12. They take the Maryland cosmetology licensing examination after completing the training; taking the examination is part of the CTE program-completer requirement.

Completing school training is not the same as receiving a professional license. A separate school-issued cosmetology certificate or diploma is not specified.

Review the program completion requirements

Schedules & start dates

Plan for training outside the regular school day, not just the school’s general opening or bell hours. The 300-hour senior-year salon work-study placement forms part of the program’s 1,500-hour total, rather than an extra 300 hours.

The exact weekly cosmetology timetable and placement hours are not specified.

Review the training and work-study requirements
Study optionClass scheduleHours per weekUpcoming starts
High School With Salon Work-Study
Class schedule

The final 300 hours of the 1,500-hour program take place in a licensed salon under a licensed senior cosmetologist during grade 12. Additional time outside the regular school day is required; weekly hours are not specified.

Weekly hoursNot listedUpcoming startsNot listed

Cost & financial aid

Program price

Price unavailable

Students must buy specialized supplies, a cosmetology textbook and a complete uniform in grade 9. These items are used throughout training and in preparation for the licensing examination.

Item prices and a full program total are not available, so the program should not be treated as having no required expenses.

Review required program purchases

Federal financial aid

Eligibility not confirmed

How to enroll

Entry requirements

This is a high school magnet program, with grade 9 entry. Students need to plan for additional training outside the regular school day and a supervised salon work-study placement in grade 12.

BCPS requires applicants to obtain the assessment guidelines for each program they apply to.

Review the magnet application timeline

Application steps

  1. Review the BCPS magnet application timeline and Western’s cosmetology assessment guidelines.
  2. Complete the district’s online magnet application and arrange the required high school assessment within the application cycle.
  3. Follow the assessment preparation and appointment instructions for cosmetology.

For the 2027–2028 application cycle, the application and assessment-booking deadline was October 20, 2026, at 1 p.m. This deadline has passed; the listed high school assessment period runs from November 2026 through January 2027.

Check the current application timeline

Program oversight & accreditation

Program oversight
Public high-school CTE
Accreditation
Not confirmed

Sources

View source list5 sources