Uniform and Cosmetology supply support
These charges are assigned to Scholarship or Student; award eligibility and application steps are not specified.
Prince Frederick, Maryland
Careers in Cosmetology at the Career and Technology Academy is a 1,500-hour, two-year pathway, normally taken during junior and senior years. Training covers hair, skin and nails, combining classroom learning, clinical practice, mentored work-based learning and a senior capstone project.
The pathway prepares students for the Maryland State Board of Cosmetologists’ practical and written exams. Students are required to take both exams after successfully completing the program; finishing the training does not itself award a professional license.
The balance changes as you progress:
Class schedule not available
Price unavailable
Required items provided through the school include:
These charges can be paid by a scholarship or the student. Students also obtain additional supplies, including school materials, black leather shoes, dark socks, a white crew-neck top and storage bags.
The school pays the $85 state board exam fee. SkillsUSA membership is optional, at $20 in each year.
Year 1 SkillsUSA membershipNot included in the program totalOptional annual dues, paid by the student; excluded from the required cost.$20
Year 2 SkillsUSA membershipNot included in the program totalOptional annual dues, paid by the student; excluded from the required cost.$20
Eligibility not confirmed
Scholarship support may cover the uniform, manikins and state board exam supplies. The state board exam fee is paid by the school, separately from those student-or-scholarship charges.
These charges are assigned to Scholarship or Student; award eligibility and application steps are not specified.
The required Maryland Cosmetology certification examination fee is assigned to the school.
This pathway normally begins in junior year and finishes in senior year. The enrollment process starts during sophomore year, and students must meet the applicable grade-level, credit and prerequisite requirements.
Military-connected transfer students arriving on official PCS orders after the last Thursday in February of sophomore year have additional enrollment provisions. Rising seniors may be considered for Level I without prior program experience if it does not affect on-time graduation. Prior participation in the same or a similar program can support placement at the appropriate level.